Avison, Margaret, 1918-2007

Identity area

Type of entity


Authorized form of name

Avison, Margaret, 1918-2007

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Margaret Avison, poet, was born in Galt, Ontario, and educated at the University of Toronto, graduating with a BA in 1940 and an MA 1965. Avison worked as a librarian, a teacher, and a social worker with the Presbyterian Church, writing poetry in her spare time. She received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1956, which she used to complete her first book of poetry, "Winter Sun" (1960). It was followed by "The Dumbfounding" (1966), "Sunblue" (1978), "No Time" (1989), "Not Yet but Still" (1997), "Concrete and Wild Carrot" (2002), "Always Now: The Collected Poems" (2003-2005), and "Momentary Dark" (2006). "Listening: Last Poems" and an autobiography, "I Am Here and Not-There", were published posthumously in 2009. Avison received the Governor General's Award for Poetry in 1960 for "Winter Sun" and in 1990 for "No Time", and the Griffin Poetry Prize in 2003 for "Concrete and Wild Carrot". She was made an officer of the Order of Canada in 1984 and was a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002. Margaret Avison died in Toronto on 31 July 2007.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail


Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Revised by J. Grant on 23 Jan. 2018.



Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places