York University (Toronto, Ont.). Board of Governors

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

York University (Toronto, Ont.). Board of Governors

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Board of Governors (B.O.G.) was established by provincial legislation (York University Act, 1959 repealed, and York University Act, 1965 - S.0. 143, 1965), as the paramount legislative authority of York University. Section 10 of the Act (1965) states that "the government, conduct, management and control of the University and of its property, revenues, expenditures, business and affairs are vested in the Board", and it shall have all necessary and convenient powers to do its job. The Board is composed of the Chancellor and President of the university as ex-officio members, two members of the Senate, two student representatives and two representatives of the York University Alumni Association, as well as twenty-four persons who are Canadian citizens selected by the Nominating Committee and elected by the Board. The officers of the Board are the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary (and Assistant Secretary). There are several committees of the Board including the Executive (and its sub-committee on collective bargaining), By-Laws, Audit, Investment, Finance, Property and Buildings, Student Relations, Appointments, Tenure and Promotions, Nominating, Pension Fund Board of Trustees, and Public and Community Relations.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail


Dates of creation, revision and deletion

2019/06/11 J. Grant. Creation.




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC