York University (Toronto, Ont.). Office of the Advisor to the President on the Status of Women

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

York University (Toronto, Ont.). Office of the Advisor to the President on the Status of Women

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Office of Advisor to the President on the Status of Women was established in 1975 as the result of a recommendation of the Senate Task Force on the Status of Women at York University. The officer informs officers and offices regarding the status of women at the university, acts as an ombudsperson for matters relating to the status of women on the campus, conducts and encourages research, carries out information and publicity activities related to the status of women and represents the President inside and outside the university in activities related to the status of women. One of the first tasks of the Advisor was to organize the Presidential Committee to Review the salaries of Full-Time Faculty Women at the university. This committee reported in 1976. A committee was also formed at that time to investigate the internal governance of the university library system. In addition, an Advisory Board assists the Advisor in dealing with issues that relate to the status of women on campus, reviewing the annual report, and selecting from among its membership representatives for the Search Committee for a new Advisor when the current Advisor resigns. The Office has offered seminars, conferences and related activities focusing on women 's needs, including the 'Taking the Initiative' conferences in the 1980s aimed at mature women students.
In 1988 the name of the Office was altered to, Advisor to the University on the Status of Women. The following women have served as Advisor: Jane Banfield Haynes (1975-1977), Marion Sheppard (1977-1978), Sandra Pyke (1978- 1979), Ann Shteir (1979-1981), Johanna Stuckey (1981-1985), Naomi Black (1985-1987), Joan Stewart (1987-1989), Ruth King (1989-1991).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail


Dates of creation, revision and deletion

2019/06/11 J. Grant. Creation.




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places